2
0
2
0
View the topics

Welcome aboard the digital version of EPFL’s annual report. You are about to embark on a virtual visit of our School, where you will learn about our three very real missions: teaching, research and innovation. And you’ll see for yourself all that we achieved in 2020, despite the pandemic.

Of course, we had to rethink some things last year. But that’s exactly what science and innovation are all about – and we’re extremely strong in those areas. For starters, we were able to shift all of our classes online in just a few days. My sincerest thanks go to our teachers, who went to great lengths to ensure our students could continue their studies uninterrupted and take their exams without a hitch. Unfortunately, our students didn’t get the full university experience, since we had to close the Satellite – our campus bar – cancel the Balélec music festival and put so many other social happenings on hold.

Our researchers, very admirably, were as driven as ever and worked hard throughout the year. On these pages, we highlight just some of the many research projects they brought to fruition despite the challenging circumstances. Many of our scientists even focused their energy on fighting the pandemic, either through their research at EPFL or their work on the Swiss government’s science task force.

Turning to innovation, 2020 was another record year for entrepreneurship at EPFL in terms of startup creation and funding. Maybe the pandemic jolted investors a little, reminding them that EPFL is a market place of ideas where experts from many disciplines come together and forge the types of knowledge that can change the world.

2020 will be remembered for the pandemic, but also for some amazing achievements. I am very proud to report that EPFL not only fulfilled its missions last year but also helped address some of the pressing challenges faced by our society. I wish to thank all of our teams, as well as our governing bodies, for their unfailing support and trust.

Your journey of discovery now begins – and I wish you bon voyage!

View the topics

2
0
2
0
Découvrir les thématiques

Bienvenue dans le rapport annuel digital de l’EPFL. Nous sommes heureux de vous embarquer pour un voyage dans un univers virtuel qui vous fera découvrir les trois missions – bien réelles – de notre École: l’éducation, la recherche et l’innovation. Vous verrez que malgré la pandémie, l’année 2020 a été particulièrement riche!

Nous avons dû nous réinventer. Mais se réinventer est précisément le cœur de la science et de l’innovation, et nous sommes excellents dans ce domaine! En quelques jours, nous avons transformé l’intégralité de nos enseignements en cours en ligne. Grâce aux efforts des équipes enseignantes, que je remercie chaleureusement ici, nos étudiantes et nos étudiants ont pu poursuivre leur cursus, et se présenter aux examens avec succès. Mais malheureusement, sans le bar du campus Satellite, le festival Balélec, ni tous les autres liens sociaux, le parcours académique de nos étudiantes et de nos étudiants n’a pas eu la même saveur.

Mais je suis aussi très admiratif de la résilience et surtout de la motivation de nos chercheurs. Vous découvrirez une infime sélection des très nombreux travaux qu’ils ont su mener à terme malgré tout. Beaucoup se sont même réinvestis dans la lutte contre la pandémie, par leurs travaux à l’EPFL ou par leur engagement dans la Task Force scientifique de la Confédération.

Et du côté de l’innovation enfin, 2020 s’est à nouveau présentée comme une année record en termes de création et de financement de nos start-up. Il se peut même que la pandémie ait fonctionné comme un catalyseur, rappelant aux investisseurs toute l’étendue des savoirs que nous sommes capables de fédérer ici, chez nous, et de développer avant de les voir essaimer dans le monde.

2020 restera une année marquée par la pandémie, mais également par des performances fantastiques. Je peux affirmer avec une grande fierté que l’EPFL n’a pas seulement su accomplir ses missions, mais a même relevé les défis de la société avec maîtrise. J’en remercie chaleureusement toutes nos équipes, ainsi que nos autorités de tutelle, dont le soutien et la confiance n’ont pas fléchi.

Chères et chers Argonautes de notre Rapport annuel, je vous souhaite de belles découvertes !

Voir les thématiques